SixOnSaturday April 22nd. Six Things I didn’t learn until now.

If you top your sweet peas and put the tops in water, they will develop roots. Twice as many sweet peas to plant.

I’m nothing if not consistent. “This would be a perfect place for a mid season narcissus” as I plant ‘Minnow’ (left) in the exact same spot as ‘Cheerfulness’ and wonder why half the clump has a different flower form than the other half.

Parrot tulips are amazing and go with everything, even homemade macaroons.

Turnips can over winter. Only the small ones, the big ones turn into a disgusting ball of stinky mush.

A mild winter followed by a cold snap will make you believe your heritage roses are dead. Give them a bit more time before you dig them out. And if you live in a cold climate, never bother planting grafted roses.

Spring is short here in North America, but not that short. You can lose a couple of weeks to tragedy, infirmity or just plain lassitude. All will be well. The fruit trees will bloom, the bees will come, the clover in the lawn will distract the rabbits from your lettuce when you get around to sowing or planting it. You will be delighted all over again.

This weekly theme is moderated by Jim at https://gardenruminations.co.uk/

7 thoughts on “SixOnSaturday April 22nd. Six Things I didn’t learn until now.

  1. Lovely post! I love your optimism about being delighted all over again. So true. I’m still chuckling about your Narcissus. Who remembers where each is planted by late fall, anyway? Too funny! Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve tried that this year with my sweet peas and was wondering if they will be strong plants. I potted up some of the rooted cuttings yesterday. I have yet to have success propagating roses, I have tried numerous methods all to no avail.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. They do look a bit spindly, but amazing root systems. My successes with rose propagation has mostly been from transplanting root suckers. You can only do that from Rose’s that aren’t grafted.

    Like

Leave a comment